A brief view about the Continent of Antarctica

Geography and some basic things about Antarctica Continent

Antarctica is Earth's southernmost continent. Geographically it contains the South Pole and is situated in the Antarctic region of the Southern Hemisphere, almost entirely south of the Antarctic Circle, and is surrounded by the Southern Ocean. At 14,200,000 square kilometres (5,500,000 square miles), Antarctica Continent nearly twice the size of Australia and it is the fifth-largest continent. At 0.00008 people per square kilometre, it is by far the least densely populated continent.

The Continent of the Antarctica has now, although there are seven nations in the world that claim different parts of the Continent of the Antarctica: France, New Zealand, Norway, Australia, the Argentina, United Kingdom and Chile. The Continent of Antarctica also includes island territories within the Antarctic Convergence.

Area of Continent:
14,200,000 km2 (5,500,000 sq mi)
Population of Continent:
Population density:
0.00008/km2 (0.0002/sq mi)

The Continent of the Antarctica is about 98% covered by the ice that averages 1.9 km (1.2 mi; 6,200 ft) in thickness, which extends to all but the northernmost reaches of the Antarctic Peninsula.

On the basis of the average the Continent of Antarctica, is the driest, coldest and windiest continent in the world, and has the highest average elevation of all the continents. Most of Antarctica is a polar desert, with annual precipitation of 200 mm (7.9 in) along the coast and far less inland; there has been no rain there for almost 2 million years that is the too long time, yet the world’s 80% freshwater reserves are stored there. -89.2 °C (−128.6 °F) temperature has reached in the Continent of the Antarctica (or even from the space as measured −94.7 °C (−135.8 °F), though the average for the third quarter (the coldest part of the year) is −64 °C (−82 °F). Anywhere throughout the year from 1,000 to 5,000 people reside at research stations scattered across the continent. Organisms native to Antarctica include many types of fungi, bacteria, Protista, algae and plants, and certain type of animals, such as seals, nematodes, mites ,penguins and tardigrades. Vegetation, where it occurs, is tundra. 

The Continent of the Antarctica is a de facto condominium that is governed by the parties to the Antarctic Treaty System that have consulting status.
In 1959 there were twelve countries by those Antarctic treaty was signed, and since then thirty-eight have signed it. The treaty prohibits military activities and mineral mining, prohibits nuclear waste disposal, nuclear explosions, supports scientific research, and protects the continent's eco-zone. Ongoing experiments are conducted by more than 4,000 scientists from.

In recorded history Antarctica is to be noted as the last region on Earth to be discovered, Until 1820 it was when the Russian expedition of Fabian Mikhail Lazarev and Gottlieb von Bellingshausen on Mirny and Vostok sighted the Shelf of the Fimbul ice. However, for the rest of the 19th century the continent of the Antarctica was largely neglected because of its isolation, hostile environment and lack of easily accessible resources. In 1895, the first confirmed landing was conducted by a team of Norwegians.